Lvivske Pivovarnya – Mitzne Ukrainian Lager

20150105_153222_Richtone(HDR)

Style: Euro Strong Lager

Country: Ukraine

ABV: 7.0%

Score: 2.5 of 5

If I’ve ever had a Ukrainian beer before, I can’t remember it. I guess it’s time for me to go check my Untappd archives. I’ve never been impressed by Euro Lagers. As a matter of fact, I recall disliking most of them. This 7% monster pours a beautiful, bright golden color with about 2 fingers of head. The aroma is very sweet and citrus-like. Much more pleasant than I would have anticipated. The head dissipates quickly with very little lacing left behind.

On the front, the sweetness comes through the second it touches your tongue. There is a faint booziness to it in the middle and back, but at 7% it should definitely be stronger. There is definitely a very strong malt backbone with very little on the hops, which barely make an appearance at the very back. Notes of wet-grain, wheat and honey all throughout. I am still surprised at how sweet this beer is with very little bitterness.

There is very little to no aftertaste. And what little there is feels sweet and pleasant. I typically dislike these beers because I can’t shake the aftertaste bitterness for a while. This beer definitely does not have that issue. This is something I could drink a few of… quickly, which makes it a pretty dangerous beer!

An issue I’ve always had with European beers is that they always seem to be very old when I grab them off the shelf. Because of this, they always taste stale and flat and unpleasant. But my bottle tastes fresh, so I can only assume this is not a problem here.

According to Beer Advocate this is discontinued but it is a new product in the area… so who knows. I don’t think I would buy this again but it was nice to try it. Probably one of the better examples of a European Lager I’ve had.

Leave a Reply

