YEE-HAW BREWING CO – DUNKEL

20161007_171836

Brewery: Yee-Haw Brewing Co.

Style:  Munich Dunkel

Country:  United States

State: TN

ABV: 5.5%

Score: 3.5 out of 5

I’ve never much liked the sweetness of Dunkels, so I tended to avoid this style along with Dubbles and, to a certain extent, Doppelbocks. That was until I had OMB’s Dunkel which, in my opinion, is one of the best interpretations of the style (along with their Hornet’s Nest Hefeweizen, but that’s a whole different post). In general, I think German styles are a little on the boring side. I know that this might be a blasphemous statement, but German styles, simply put, are plain. Not to say that I don’t love a well made Hefe, a Gose or a Pilsner. Ironically, Kolsch is my absolute favorite style. Regardless, I was fairly excited to try Yee-Haw’s version as it took the Bronze Medal this year at the World Beer Cup in the European Style/Muenchen Dunkel category.

Yee Haw’s version of a Dunkel isn’t what I would call traditional, but it is damn good! The nose, although faint, boasts of rich toasted malt and roasted coffee beans. There isn’t much more going on there, but what little there is, is very pleasant.

The beer pours practically pitch black, which I did not expect. I was expecting a rich mahogany, but at a glance, I could have sworn I’d just poured a stout into my glass. The half finger of head dissipates in under a minute, leaving behind only a faint trace of lacing.  Again, like on the nose, not much else going on here.

Notes of sweet caramel and a bit of sourdough open the door for this beer. There are also slight hints of buttery toffee, along with a little molasses towards the middle. These seem par for the course for a Dunkel, so I semi-expected these to make an appearance at some point. Although the beer starts slightly sweet (which is natural for this style) it finishes fairly dry, with a strong coffee bitterness and toasted bread. The finishing notes linger for a quite a bit, which is very pleasant as you make your way through a full pint.

YeeHaw’s version of a Munich Dunkel most certainly did not disappoint. I wouldn’t exactly call it a traditional Germany Munich Dunkel, as they claim on their bottle, but this is definitely something I’d like to try fresher, off the tap, at the brewery. Definitely, one of which you will have more than one serving!

Leave a Reply

