Wicked Weed Brewing – Lunatic Blonde

20150127_160230

Brewery: Wicked Weed Brewing

Style: Belgian Blonde Ale

ABV: 6.5 %

Score: 4 out of 5

Located in Ashville, NC, Wicked Weed Brewing is an ever evolving brewery with a list of craft beer so extensive, it is sure to have a little something for everyone. This evening, I will be sampling and reviewing their Lunatic Blonde Belgian Style Ale. Cheers!

I simply love the labeling on Lunatic! It provoked a sense of moonlit mystery, such an intrigue that I couldn’t deny myself the pleasure of indulgence. As the art work leads the question of what is within the woods, I asked myself, what lies within the bottle!

This blonde Belgian ale pours a lovely hazy straw color with about a finger of head that quickly dissipates into an almost non-existent ring of white. On the nose, I am met with some clove, some floral notes, and some sort of fruit I can’t quite place. Very mild nose, overall.

My tongue is immediately met with flavors of biscuit and clove. They are definately riding in the front seat. Lunatic has a light to medium mouth feel and isn’t overly carbonated. Flavors of fruit and a tinge of bitterness linger at the back of the tongue, very pleasantly, in fact. As this Belgian blonde warms, it doesn’t gain anything extra making it one I personally would not recommend a sip and schmooze beer.

Overall, Wicked Weed Brewing Blonde Belgian Ale is an extremely drinkable, well crafted beer. I could easily consume many a two or three of these piggy back with no issue. It doesn’t leave a heavy feel in the stomach and is very refreshing. I certainly recommend giving this one a go!

6 comments

  1. I love Wicked Weed! Their sour beers are pretty righteous, too. I had the chance to visit WW last May when we came to Asheville to tour the Biltmore Estate. Nice review of the Blonde.

Leave a Reply

