Listermann Brewing Co – Over/Under Amber Lager

overunder

Brewery: Listermann Brewing Co.

Style:  Amber Lager

ABV: 6.2%

Score:  3.5 of 5

There was a time when I got excited about Charlotte Craft Beer week. For the span of a few years in the early 2010s, Charlotte Craft Beer week was an amazing week. Over the past two or three years, I do not recall it being a cohesive unit as it once was. Now, it feels more like an every-bar/brewery-for-itself type Royal Rumble. I do not mean this in a negative way, but more in a way that there isn’t one central group of individuals stringing the week together. As a matter of fact, I do not know if we even had a Charlotte Craft Beer Week this year. Please hold…

Well, it looks like we did. The page is up, and it looks like we had a good series of events. I didn’t go to any. Maybe I’m just slipping in my old age. To be fair, I’ve never been to the Cincinnati Beer Week either. As a matter of fact, I’ve never even been to Cincinnati. It seems their main deal during this week is to partner several breweries and release collaboration beers to celebrate craft beer for a week A pretty good idea, if you ask me.

I picked this bottle up right across the border from Cincinnati, in a little town called Crescent Springs, KY. It was a large liquor, wine and beer store with a very large variety of all three. I knew I would never get a chance to try this again, so I picked up a bottle. This particular collaboration is between Dogberry, MadTree, Urban Artifact, and Listermann; which is where it was brewed.

This beer pours beautifully copper with vibrant hues of mahogany red. This is truly a beautiful color for a beer.  I got about half a finger of dense head, with some large bubbles pooling on top. The head quickly settles into a thick, heavy ring around the glass with thin lacing in the middle. The head also sticked beautifully to the sides of my glass as I made my way through the beer.

I don’t know what Mulberry Wood should taste or smell like, but there are slight aromas of wood on the nose. These work very well with the sticky-sweet caramel notes that follow. I also detect some faint raisin, dates, or similar dark fruit. Actually, Over/Under reminds me slightly of a barleywine with its strong sweet aroma.

On the palate, this collaboration is nowhere near as sweet as the nose suggested. It is actually quite good and earthy, with some traces of wood and lightly roasted malts. Being a lager, it has a light to medium body that makes it dangerously quaffable at 6.2% ABV. There is some mild bitterness at the end from the (I’m guessing) noble hops, but blink and you will miss these. As my glass warmed, the beer felt slightly drier with the wood flavors becoming stronger and laced with a slight taste of leather. I welcomed this very, very much.

There are several other collaborations made for the 2016 Cincinnati Beer Week. If they are all as good and drinkable as Over/Under, I would certainly like to try them all.

 

Leave a Reply

